Skip to content ↓

Our Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets out our curriculum which we provide through a mixture of adult led activities and child led learning through play. Our environment has been developed to allow children to access resources independently, through a variety of carefully planned opportunities and continuous provision. 

Seven Areas of Learning

The Early Years Foundation Stage is based on seven areas of learning. There are three prime areas and four specific areas which are incorporated into all that we do in Reception. 

Prime areas 

Personal, Social and Emotional Development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups and to have confidence in their own abilities. There are three aspects to this area of learning; Self-regulation, Managing Self and Building Relationships. 

Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations. This area of learning is made up of two aspects; Speaking and Listening, Attention and Understanding.  

Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive, and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity and to make healthy choices in relation to food. This area of learning includes two aspects; Gross Motor skills and Fine Motor skills. 

Specific Areas

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measure. Mathematics is made up of two aspects; Number and Numerical Patterns. 

Literacy involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. This is the area of learning that covers phonics, which we teach through the DfE Approved Twinkl Phonics Scheme. It is important that children are given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems and other written materials) to ignite their interest. This area of learning is made up of two aspects;  Reading and Writing. 

Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community. Children learn about other people, the place where they live and about all features of their environment and the natural world. It is made up of three aspects; Past and Present, People, Culture and Communities and The Natural World. 

Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.  The aspects included in this area of learning are; Creating with Materials and Being Imaginative and Expressive.